I won in Arirang Top Talent!

대 상 (de-sang)! Yes! I got the grand prize in Arirang Top Talent show!

Among 11 contestants, I am very grateful to bag the Grand Prize. There were contestants from Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Mongolia, Uzbekistan, UK, USA, Romania and India. The taping of the episode was held in Gangnam yesterday.

I sang “가로수 그늘 아래 서면”  (When I Stand under the Roadside Tree) by 이문세. It is an old song back in 1986. The year when I was born, but it is a very good song.

Last winter vacation, while I was in Philippines for a month,  I memorized the lyrics of the song & tried to find the right chords on my own, even if I can easily find them in the internet. I did that because I wanted to record it and give it to a special someone as gift. but it was too late…

I never imagined that I would sing that song for any other purpose. Yesterday in Arirang was a great experience. Thank you to my fellow scholars in CUK for the love and support. I feel strong and safe knowing that I have you all in this journey. It’s been almost 2 months, but that song is still dedicated to you, 원석.

Before the contest, I would practice at the dorm’s fire exit, where there’s so much echo, a bit scary, but at least I’m sure that I won’t get complaints for playing my guitar and singing late at night. I also borrowed an acoustic-electric guitar, which I wish I could buy my own soon… Thanks Nico and Corine for letting me use the guitar.

Thank you to Karina for passing the contest information from the Yeoksam Global Village Center. This organization caters to the needs of foreigners living in South Korea, and for this week’s episode, Arirang Top Talent tied up with them to find foreigners who want to share their talents. I joined and so as with our best dancer in our university, Gracey Maquiniana, who did a Tahitian Dance, she got he 1st runner up plus the ice breaker game prize. Everyone was very entertained. Gracey’s really competitive! way to go Gracey!

Majority of the audience were Filipinos, so Gracey and I couldnt be happier. Thank you CUK Scholars for being there yesterday. Thank you to my parents and my sisters for your support and prayers. Mahal ko po kayo!

Thank you to the Arirang Top Talent hosts , Mr. Kim Han-seok, who really makes the show very fun! and Ms. Lee Ji-hye. To the patient and hardworking staff of Arirang,  Thank you so much! See you in Grand Finals and more power to Top Talent !

4 thoughts on “I won in Arirang Top Talent!

    • pakner. ikaw pa rin ang aking pakner. maraming salamat :D. nakakatuwa lang matuto ng kanta nila, kahit hindi ko naman lubos na naiintindihan yung buong kanta. dalawin mo naman ako dito! 🙂

Leave a Reply

