My Favorite Filipino Movie

Was talking with friends while killing some time in the GEO office. Jonathan mentionad a word “babe”, then Alex said that the word “babe” best reminds him of Lea Salonga and Aga Mulach’s movie, “Bakit Labis Kitang Mahal” . When i heard it, I was really surprised that a guy would know such movie. Alex said that it is one of his favorite Filipino movies, a favorite movie too among his siblings, to the point that they’ve seen it several times. Well, it’s  my favorite Filipino movie too! In my case, I only saw it through the afternoon movies aired in Channel 2 (ABSCBN). I was just impressed with the wit and innocence of Lea Salonga. I loved how Aga Mulach acted when he realized that Lea’s character became very successful when they moved to the US, while him worked as a waiter. I can imagine his it hit his ego. The ending too was memorable.  Hope you can find a copy of it. Try it!

“Bakit Labis Kitang Mahal” is an entry to the Metro Manila Film Festival in 1992. Directed by Jose Javier Reyes.

Leave a Reply

